Men’s Under 20 State Championship
Women’s Open State Championship

Venue: Newcastle
Dates: Competition Dates for 2017 still to be confirmed

The NSW Waratahs Men’s Under 20 State 7s Championship and the NSW Waratahs Women’s Open State 7s Championship are being hosted by Newcastle Hunter Rugby Union in association with The Hawthorne Club.

The championships are sanctioned by the NSW Rugby Union.

Matches played at Newcastle No.2 Sportsground which is the headquarters of the Newcastle Hunter Rugby Union.

Key personnel from Country, State and National rugby bodies will be attending to identify young rugby talent for NSW 7s development.

Teams representing Shute Shield clubs in Sydney, individual NSW Country Zones, NSW Suburban Rugby Union and other rugby organisations have been invited to nominate teams.

Full details can be obtained by contacting General Manager – Newcastle and Hunter Rugby Union, Andy Fairfull on


The Hawthorne Club and Newcastle Hunter Rugby Union – promoting and developing Rugby Union in the Hunter Region